A- A A+
  • 6363308040
  • 1926


Shri. J Srinivas Murthy ,SFS

Deputy Conservator of Forests
Office of the Deputy Conservator of Forests, Near Zilla Panchayth Davanagere Division, Davanagere -577005

ABOUT Division

Davanagere forest division is located in the eastern sector of central Karnataka. The division occupies a portion of Davanagere district, the remaining part of the district being in Bhadravathi forest division. The total forest area of Davanagere division is 58,170.80 hectares which constitute 12.36 of the geographical area of the division (580.70 Km²). The division has one sub-division, namely, Davanagere sub-division, and consists of five ranges, namely, Davanagere, Harpanahalli, Honnali, Jagalur and Rangaiahnadurga wildlife ranges. The forests of Davanagere division vary from dry mixed deciduous to thorny scrub types. Dry mixed deciduous forests occur in patches in the western most parts of the division. However, most of the forest blocks of the division, especially in the eastern part, harbor large extents of scrub forests which tend to be thorny bushes in the driest localities. The forests of Rangaiahnadurga of Jagalur taluk have been declared as Wildlife Sanctuary (10-01-2011) for the conservation of the Four Horned Antelope. It covers an area of 7,723 hectares.

Davanagere Division Map