Shri. Ravishankar. C ,SFS

Deputy Conservator of Forests,
Deputy Conservator of Forests, Mandya Division, Mandya

ABOUT Division

Mandya forest division is located in the central region of the southern sector of Karnataka state. The division covers all the seven taluks of Mandya revenue district having a range office for each taluk. The total extent of notified forest area of Mandya division is 17,331.99 hectares. The total extent of notified forest area of Mandya district (along with the protected area handed over to Cauvery wildlife division) is 26,235.32 hectares which constitute only about 5.29 of the total geographical area of the district (4,961 Km²). The division is drained by four rivers, namely, Cauvery, Hemavathi, Lokapavani and Shimsha. Forests of Mandya division are mainly of dry deciduous and scrub types. The division has two sub-divisions with headquarters at Mandya and Nagamangala. Mandya sub-division has four ranges, namely, Mandya, Maddur, Malavalli and Srirangapatna. Nagamangala sub-division has three ranges, namely, Nagamangala, Pandavapura and K.R.Pet. Mandya division is mostly an afforestation division. Large extents of plantations have been raised over the years in the state forests as well as in other government lands.

Mandya Division Map