Shri. Yashpal Kshirsagar ,IFS

Deputy Conservator of Forests
Office of the Deputy Conservator of Forests-Dharwad Division, Near K.C. Park, P.B. Road, Dharwad-580008

ABOUT Division

Dharwad forest division is located in the central sector of Karnataka state. The limits of Dharwad forest division are the same as those of Dharwad district. The total extent of recorded forest lands of Dharwad division is 46,854 hectares which constitute about 11 of the geographical area of the division (4,260 Km²). The division has one sub-division, namely, Dharward sub-division, and consists of three ranges, namely, Dharwad, Hubli and Kalaghatgi ranges. The western part of Kalaghatgi range adjoining Kirwatti range of Yellapur forest division of Canara Circle (Uttara Kannada district) has fairly good teak-bearing dry deciduous forest. Similarly, the western part of Dharwar range adjoining Haliyal range of Haliyal division of Canara Circle is dry deciduous forest, although in quality it is a bit inferior to the Kalaghatgi forest. The remaining part of the division mostly harbors scrub forests with preponderance of thorny species. A Wildlife Sanctuary, namely, Attiveri Bird Sanctuary is located in the eastern border of the division in the midst of forests of Mundgod range of Yellapur forest division and Kalaghatgi range of Dharwad division.

Dharwad Division Map