Deputy Conservator of Forests
O/o. The Deputy Conservator of Forests, Madikeri Wildlife Division, Aranya Bhawan, Mysore Road, Madikeri-571201

ABOUT Division

Madikeri wildlife division comprises three wildlife sanctuaries, namely, Brahmagiri Wildlife Sanctuary (181.29 Km²), Pushpagiri Wildlife Sanctuary (102.92 Km²) and Talacauvery Wildlife Sanctuary (105.59 Km²). Madikeri Wildlife Division consists of one sub-division, namely, Madikeri wildlife sub-division, and consists of four wildlife ranges, namely, Makutta, Virajpet, Srimangala and Talacauvery Wildlife Ranges. Brahmagiri Sanctuary is located in Virajpet Taluk. It adjoins the forests of the Wynad district of Kerala state. It covers Brahmagiri and Urti Reserved Forests. The Sanctuary is named after its highest point (peak) known as Brahmagiri (1,607 m). Pushpagiri sanctuary is located in Somwarpet taluk. The sanctuary covers a part of Kadamakkal Reserved Forest. The highest point (peak) of the Sanctuary is Pushpagiri (Kumara Parvata) (1,712 m). The Sanctuary adjoins the Bisle ghat Forests of Hassan division and the Kukke Subramanya forests of Mangalore division. Talacauvery Sanctuary is located in Madikeri taluk. It adjoins the forests of Kasarkode district of Kerala state. The Sanctuary covers part of Padinalknad Reserved Forest. The Sanctuary is named after Talacauvery, the origin of the Cauvery River which lies on the eastern edge of the Sanctuary. The forests of all the three Wildlife Sanctuaries of Madikeri Wildlife Division are evergreen or semi-evergreen. Important animals found in the sanctuaries are tiger, panther, wild dog, Nilgiri Marten, elephant, bison, sloth bear, Lion-tailed macaque, common langur, sambar, spotted deer, barking deer, Malabar Giant Squirrel, Giant Flying Squirrel, Wild boar, Varieties of reptiles and birds, etc.

Madikeri Wild life division