Circular Regarding 371 (J).Important advisory issued to candidates regarding recruitment


Shri. Ganapathi K ,IFS

Deputy Conservator of Forests
Opp to Rotary Hospital,Karkala Taluk Office Junction, Kukkundoor Post,Udupi- 574104, (Trekking enquires: 08258-298183 )

ABOUT Division

Kudremukh wildlife division (headquarters Karkala) comprises three protected areas, namely, Kudremukh National Park, Someshwara Wildlife Sanctuary and Mookambika Wildlife Sanctuary. Kudremukh National Park is situated in parts of Chikkamagaluru, Dakshina Kannada and Udupi districts. Someshwara and Mookambika Wildlife Sanctuaries are situated partly in Udupi district and partly in Shivamogga district. The extents of the protected areas are as follows: Kudremukh national park (600.57 Km²), Someshwara Wildlife Sanctuary (314.25 Km²) and Mookambika Wildlife Sanctuary (370.37 Km²). Kudremukh wildlife division has two sub-divisions, namely, Kudremukh and Siddapura wildlife sub-divisions, and consists of nine ranges, namely, Agumbe, Amasebailu, Belthangadi, Hebri, Karkala, Kerekatte, Kollur, Kudremukh and Someshwara wildlife ranges. Forests of Kudremukh National Park are primarily of evergreen to semi-evergreen types. At higher altitudes (above 1,000 m), extensive and rolling grasslands surrounding pockets of shola forest in valleys and depressions are met with. Forests of Someshwara and Mookambika Wildlife Sanctuaries exhibit a mosaic of evergreen, semi-evergreen and secondary moist deciduous forests. Wildlife found in these protected areas includes tiger, panther, wild dog, bison, elephant (occasional), sambar, spotted deer (introduced in Kudremukh), sloth bear, wild boar, Lion tailed macaque, common langur, bonnet macaque, varieties of reptiles and birds, etc.

Kudremukh Wildlife Division