Shri. Shri. B N N MURTHY

Deputy Conservator of Forests
Deputy Conservator of Forests, Bannerghatta National Park, Near Kolifarm Gate, Towards Weavers Colony, Bannerghatta Main Road, Kalkere, Bengaluru-83

ABOUT Division

Bannerghatta National Park (BNP) was declared in 1974 initially with an area of 106.83 Km². It had then comprised two reserved forests spread over in the districts of Bengaluru Urban and Bengaluru Rural. Subsequently in 2011, Kodihalli range of Ramanagara territorial division was added to the national park. The total area of BNP now is 260.51 Km² comprising 13 reserved forests spread over the districts of Bengaluru Urban, Bengaluru Rural and Ramanagara. The boundary of BNP has highly irregular shape and it measures about 59 km in length the width of the park varies from 0.3 km to 13.8 km. The park is administered by DCF, BNP and is assisted by ACF, BNP. There are four ranges in the national park, namely, Anekal, Bannerghatta, Harohalli and Kodihalli wildlife ranges. Forests of the National Park are mostly of scrub type with mixed dry deciduous patches in the sheltered valleys. There are some very good patches of medri bamboo (Dendrocalamus strictus). Animals found in the park include panther, elephant, sloth bear, spotted deer, grey langur, bonnet macaque, wild boar, jackal, varieties of reptiles and birds, etc. Occasional sighting of a tiger is also reported.

Bannerghatta National Park