About Circle

For convenience of forest administration and forest management, Karnataka state has been divided into thirteen units. Each unit is called a circle each circle is headed by an officer of the rank of Chief Conservator of Forests (CCF). Certain portions of Chamarajanagar, Mysuru and Kodagu districts comprising Bandipur and Nagarahole Tiger Reserves are not included in any of these circles these areas are administered by the Field Director, Project Tiger (FDPT), Mysuru, who is an officer of the rank of Additional Principal Chief Conservator of Forests (APPCF). Each circle is further sub-divided into divisions which are either territorial or wildlife divisions. There is also a social forestry (SF) division in every district which receives technical guidance from the concerned circle CCF. The SF division is under the administrative control of the concerned Zilla Panchayat. Each territorial, wildlife or social forestry division is headed by a Deputy Conservator of Forests. Each division is further divided into sub-divisions, ranges, sections and beats. These units are headed by Assistant Conservators of Forests (ACFs), Range Forest Officers (RFOs), Deputy Range Forest Officers (DRFOs) and Forest Guards (FGs), respectively.

Circle Wise Map of Karnataka


View More

News & Updates

View More